I grew up hearing people say God spoke to them and I always wanted that. However, it wasn’t until the end of last year that the hunger to hear His voice became greater. I used to pray God make me hungry for you, well He did.

I recently decided to make time to pray, I always prayed and read my bible before going to sleep, but I heard a preacher say if you want to hear from God you have to carve a special time and place to meet with Him, so I did in the corner of my room. I took it deeper. I made a special place in my room and called my meeting place with Jesus. I go there worship, pray, read my bible and wait to ear from Him. 

The first time I heard from Him I doubted if it was really Him. But He said my voice is soft comes with love and kindness. Such an easy way to make the distinction because the devil voice is loud, comes with blame, what ifs, condemnation, guilt, fear and anxiety. But yet, knowing all of that sometimes I still allow the devil, to drown out God voice in my life. The goal now is to always hear God’s voice. 

Last night in my prayer time with God, after worshiping, praying and bible reading, I wrote down:

Lord I need your help

 I need to hear from You 

and I asked Him 2 questions:

What is my purpose?

How can I be a vessel for your glory?  

and I waited…. waited…..waited and heard Romans 3:4, open my  Bible and read 

 Let God be true, and every human being a liar. As it is written: “So that you may be proved right when you speak and prevail when you judge.”

Last night was the second time God gave me a verse, the first time I was like let me see if it’s God? Is there such verse  in the Bible? And there it was and spoke exactly to my circumstance.

As a newbie these are the things I’ve learned about hearing the voice of God:

1. Have a desire to hear from Him

2. Spend quiet time with Him (I know preachers say it a lot but it’s true)

3. Expect to hear from Him 


Happy Sunday y’all 

